Begin and End. – Fluffy Clouds by The Orb and Himmelfilm by Us

“Wha’ were skies like when you were young?” asks the man young Ricky Lee Jones.

“They went on forever – They – When I … We lived in Arizona, and the skies always had little fluffy clouds in ’em, and, uh… they were long… and clear and… there were lots of stars at night. And, uh, when it would rain, it would all turn – it – They were beautiful, the most beautiful skies as a matter of fact. Um, the sunsets were purple and red and yellow and on fire, and the clouds would catch the colours everywhere. That’s uh, neat ’cause I used to look at them all the time, when I was little. You don’t see that. You might still see them in the desert.”

she answers.

My sky looked so different, from this sky in Arizona, even in my memory. But it was the same sky, no?

I found this interview bit in a song by The Orb. At the time, I lived in an international student house. My oldest son was just born and I started to ask people about their childhood skies.

The song “Fluffy Clouds” samples not only Ricky Lee Jones voice, but as well Ennio Morricone’s and Steve Reich’s work. – The Orb collected. And so did we. – Living in Amsterdam meantime, carrying the childhood sky still under my heart, I had asked my friend and filmmaker Jiska Rickels, if she remembers her childhood sky and could imagine, to make a movie about it with me.

This is the trailer. The movie itself has been screening in the Benelux-Countries together with Wim Wender’s Land of Plenty in the cinemas. Now, it got shortlisted for an exhibition in the Pinakothek der Moderne, Munich, in 2011.


Which made me deal with my memory again. And all what’s left from those fluffy clouds.

The letter above was the beginning, this here is the end. The end is sitting in an attic waiting for time to pass. What remains, is Himmelfilm and a song, by The Orb.



2 thoughts on “Begin and End. – Fluffy Clouds by The Orb and Himmelfilm by Us

  1. Pingback: Himmelfilm in der Pinakothek der Modernde München. « kamera: sanne kurz

  2. Pingback: New Years Eve or Xmas in Europe? « sanne kurz – cinematographer

Leave your Mark

