Christmas tree around the world: Tannenbaum – ёлка – クリスマスツリ – עץ חג המולד – Kerstboom – Joulukuusi

Whilst we sport three or more names for Christmas tree – Weihnachtsbaum, Tannenbaum or Christbaum – other languages do not have a name for it. Feel free to send some suggestions in the comments section just below this post! a great inspiration might be Wikipedia, where you find images of very different cultures and their idea of how this tree should look like ideally. Starting here simply click on the languages on the left to get to the countries listings.

And here comes our tree:

10 thoughts on “Christmas tree around the world: Tannenbaum – ёлка – クリスマスツリ – עץ חג המולד – Kerstboom – Joulukuusi

  1. Pingback: ⠁⠁⠁ I love light. I love air.

    • Thanks, James! – I read about your made up word…and I LOVE it!! I got a crush on made up words and: I’m even blogging about them!
      In German invented words are called “Wortschöpfung”. It means: word creation. I love to have an own word for it and: via this link http://en.wordpress.com/tag/wortschopfung/ you come to me and other bloggers – like yourself – using them, loving them, writing about them, making them.

  2. Pingback: Macro Photography: Water Drop on Christmas Tree. « ⠁⠁⠁ I love light. I love air.

  3. Pingback: EU Bans Sale of Death Penalty Drug to US as by Today « ⠁⠁⠁ I love light. I love air.

Leave your Mark

