2010 in review

It’s not a secret I am pretty much in love with WordPress, the service making this blog as well as my homepage and portfolio a) possible, b) fund and c) easy. Today I got a mail from them summing up my last year with them. Feels a bit like being at primary school and getting one of those star-stamps in your exercise book.

Once you collected three you get a sticker!

Oh, and of course you show your stars and your stickers to all your friends, don’t you?! (and you talk, whilst you are showing it to them…to make it more of an experience for all the star admirers in the classroom…)

here it comes… Crunchy numbers

Ema by Gerhard richterA Boeing 747 can hold 416 passengers. This blog was viewed about 6,900 times in 2010. That’s about 17 full 747s.

In 2010, there were 65 new posts, growing the total archive of this blog to 123 posts. There were 260 pictures uploaded, taking up a total of 116mb. That’s about 5 pictures per week.

(who the hell is reading this? 123 blurbs by me…I mean it’s like someone talking two days non stop…well, than: I guess modern blablabla radio does the same … the images could replace the music on this radio…looking at images is always kind of nice, no? Oh, and!! 123!!! …what a coincidence! I made a film called 123, remember?!)

The busiest day of the year was January 4th with 71 views. The most popular post that day was Gerhard Richter. Portraits. .

Where did they come from? (I wish I knew…)

The top referring sites in 2010 were facebook.com, networkedblogs.com, sannekurz.com, weheartit.com, and en.wordpress.com.

Some visitors came searching, mostly for akt, ema, sanne kurz, april pearson nude, and fussball.

(nude and soccer…what a surprise…no idea though WHY my blog is found if you google april pearson – I had to look her up when I first read her name in my search-referers list…she’s some 90ties British actress, no??)

Attractions in 2010

These are the posts and pages that got the most views in 2010.

(those might have got the most views … but I can REALLY only STRONGLY recommend to not read them…they are kind of dull… better head over to my LIEBLINGSPOSTS – you find links in the column ON THE RIGHT ☛ those LIEBLINGSPOSTS are the posts I myself love the most… and I would choose to show you those if you would sit right next to me at my little table overlooking a quite snowy garden right now…)

1

Gerhard Richter. Portraits. April 2009
1 comment and 1 Like on WordPress.com,

2

Canon 5D|7D Production Kit September 2009
6 comments

3

About me? I make light flow. October 2008
6 comments

4

Mein großer linker Zeh May 2009
1 comment

5

Info|Contact October 2008
1 comment

(oh, that was already the end of star-stamps collected in my exercise book?! …Autsch…. I swear it feels exactly like in year two at primary school when those pages with “you are awesome” marks given to me by my teacher were running out… who tells us today we are awesome?! … hm… gotta find someone to do that twice a day to me. You can volunteer! … no stickers and stars needed I promise!)

3 thoughts on “2010 in review

  1. I am in digital filmmaking program. I came here because I was looking for female cinematographers. There’s so many guys blogging about dSLRs. I want to read about what women are doing to create art with film. Eventually I’d like to start my own blog about film and filmmaking. When I get more experience. 😀 Happy New Year and congratulations on a great blog.

    • Hey Susanita,
      thank you for your lovely comment.
      Having worked almost only on film at filmschool, I was at the beginning a bit worried people might not trust me with digital. Having done the first Red shoot in Munich after the camera arrived in town I expected some sort of hype – but the phone stood still for months.
      All changed when I bought the 5D.
      We shot a lot, we tested a lot, we exchanged a lot, we experimented a lot.
      And often people talk about things you can not actually see and base all their information on comparing results they see on the net…
      I’m not sure if any of my career relates to me being a female cinematographer. A “Kamerafrau” as we say in German in opposite to the “Kameramann”. Here, everybody always is looking for a Kameramann. Coz it is the usual and normal word for the job in our language. Believe me, it happens very very often, that I am the only female around or people think my AC is actually the DP. I don’t mind that. And I feel it being different in different countries. And I feel it changing. We start to be more🙂
      A great place to take off is the iwff – they have a special award for female DPs which I won in 2009 check here http://www.frauenfilmfestival.eu/
      To see some of my DSLR work check my online reel on my “pro” homepage http://sannekurz.com

Leave your Mark

