Running from Holi we Took Rescue in Haridwar.

Haridwar, about 5 Indian train hours north of New Delhi, is much smaller and slightly calmer than what you see when you chose to arrive in a large Indian city. It is known for its religious and spiritual places – not that I am a very spiritual person, but should you be and ever be in India: go there, dip in the Ganges, listen to chanting in the evening or visit one of the approximately 5 million temples in town.

We visited an Internet Cafe. Did I mention everything in Haridwar is much smaller than anything you saw in India before?

The owners were great, had their kids running around which makes you instantly feel at home and since India is a smaller place than one might think, we met the young guy running the place and his extended family only one week later at the Haridwar train station on our way back to Delhi.

Even when you are not in to temples and the information that Haridwar is one of India’s seven holiest cities with temples build over 1000 years ago is on you as much wasted as on us, you definitely will enjoy the Trip to the Mansa Devi Temple. The super-pittoresque way up in a Indian-style ropeway is simply to lovely a trip to not give it a go. Enjoy an ice-cream up there on the terrace if you are not in to donations and blessings and chill overlooking the city beneath.

You can stroll down the windy road and watch the still teenage giant of a city going to sleep.

Back at the foot of the hills than, later at night, food stalls and cinemas come to life and you can dive right in to Bollywood, treating yourself with a Hindi-movie and some Indian snack hence lentil mix.

Gosh, this is kind of almost a real travelogue…no complaining, no irony…guess we kind of liked it in Haridwar.

Why we had to take rescue and where we went next you can read following the links.

Other posts from our India Travel Diary are:
I use Trains when travelling in India
Happy Holi – Spring in India
Running from Holi we took Rescue in Haridwar
Half Indian Doors and Memories in little red Note Books
Guwahati, Assam, North-East India.
Assamese Cuisine, German Spätzle And What’s Slime Got To Do With It
Tea Gardens And Kaziranga
Lovely People and Empty Ministries: Kohima
Twice a Day a Bus at the End of the Known World: Khonoma
Last Stop Paradise: Meghalaya, India
Another Travel Diary of mine takes you to Israel and Palestine in 2012. You can start reading it here

Thanks for coming with me on this journey.

13 thoughts on “Running from Holi we Took Rescue in Haridwar.

  1. thanks for sharing your experience in India. I am enjoying your travelogues. “5 Indian train hours” is a great expression. I am going to keep it for long.

    all the best for the rest of your trip. what´s the next lag?

    cheers,
    Samyak

    • Heya Samyak,
      thanks for leaving a note.
      This might make it more boring in our century of real time iphone-ing – but we ARE already back home. I took a week to recover, color some easter eggs with the kids at their grandparents place and: move some thoughts from my head, my hard-disc and my little red notebook in to this blog…
      Is this cheating??
      I’ll show you where I am now today here: http://hatephotoshop.wordpress.com
      …and I’ll keep going for a little while posting my Indian-Spring memories here, ok?
      Today: Rishikesh.

      • you ask, is it cheating? no, not at all. sharing is always good and better late than never, i say. may be you could call these posts memoirs of your trip to india. not that we, readers, mind not being informed of this but you will surely get rid of the (misplaced) guilt. my own memoirs of Camino de Santiago are in the mint and will post them soon. so, keep posting and don´t hinder the flow.
        cheers,
        ThoughtTavern

  2. Pingback: Half Indian Doors and Memories in Little Red Note Books. « ⠁⠁⠁ I love light. I love air.

  3. Pingback: Running from Holi we Took Rescue in Haridwar. « I love light. I … | BuzzNow.co.in

  4. Pingback: Happy Holi. Spring in India. « ⠁⠁⠁ I love light. I love air.

  5. Pingback: Last Stop Paradise: Meghalaya, India « ⠁⠁⠁ I love light. I love air.

  6. Pingback: I use Trains when Travelling in India « ⠁⠁⠁ I love light. I love air.

  7. Pingback: Twice a Day a Bus at the End of the Known World: Khonoma « ⠁⠁⠁ I love light. I love air.

  8. Pingback: Lovely People and Empty Ministries: Kohima. « ⠁⠁⠁ I love light. I love air.

  9. Pingback: Tea Gardens And Kaziranga. « ⠁⠁⠁ I love light. I love air.

  10. Pingback: Assamese Cuisine, German Spätzle And What’s Slime Got To Do With It. « ⠁⠁⠁ I love light. I love air.

  11. Pingback: Guwahati, Assam, North-East India. « ⠁⠁⠁ I love light. I love air.

Leave your Mark

