Golden October Apple Pies or Why I Hate to Leave My House at Six.

“Why do musicians get up at 6?” – “Coz the shops are closing at 7!”  – ok, German humour, you got me. And: I’m not a musician anyway. But man, I hate getting up at 6. 6 in the morning that is. But most of all, I hate leaving the house at 6.

When I got to leave the house at 6am, rushing to the airport, leaving my warm bed behind, I hate my job. My kids are rubbing their eyes to tired to say good bye, the bags to carry downstairs were less many and less heavy last night, when I packed, and the coffe boils to slow to be ready in time. I will have to make this one a Starbucks morning. – I hate leaving the house at 6am.

Today, I got to leave only at 6:30! Joy. It does give me some time to think about a lovely weekend, golden October days and the apple pie we made from the windfall apples my friend Margarete brought me.

I take

  • 300g full grain wheat flour, pour it in a bowl, put than
  • 125g sugar in the middle, add
  • 1 egg on top of the sugar
  • 200g ice cold butter go in bits as tiny as possible on the flour around sugar and egg.

Than I knead and, once ready, put the dough wrapped in something letting it not drie out fridge. Meantime, I peel and cut

  • about 1kg apples, Boskop are great or any other sour apple. When the apples are to sweet, I add the juice of
  • 1 lemon. I also love
  • lemon zest
  • a tiny bit of nutmeg and
  • cinnamon on my cake. Most people take
  • raisins as well and some add a little
  • rhum

 

Now 30 minutes should be over. I take the dough out of the fridge, squish it wit my hands flat in a baking dish (flat, large) and keep some dough to decorate the top later. To avoid the bottom getting all soggy, I add

  • breadcrumbs
  • on top of the dough. Speread them, pour the left overs not sticking to the bottom out. Apples on top of breadcrumbed dough, left over dough on top of apples.
  • Milk and
  • 1 beaten egg

on top of the decoration does all the magic. Off in the oven you go, 50-55 minutes, 180 degrees Celsius in the preheated oven. Non-metric values and Farenheit to follow tonight, I gotta run leave the house!! – Fell free to do the service and add non-metric and Farenheit in the comments! Thanks! Bye!

 

15 thoughts on “Golden October Apple Pies or Why I Hate to Leave My House at Six.

  1. wunderbare stimmungsvolle bilder ! koche und backe selbst leidenschaftlich und diese photos sind eine willkommene inspiration bald den nächsten apfelkuchen zu zaubern. thanks for sharing !

    yours
    apu

    • Leider gibt es ja keine Duft-Fotografie…Apfelkuchen klassisch aber vegan würde mich auch interessieren – wenn Du Geheimnisse teilen magst 🙂
      Gerade habe ich entdeckt, was Du nicht aus Äpfeln sondern aus Papier zauberst…tolle Collagen auf Deiner Seite!
      S.

    • Thank you so much, Irena! – In this case, it was the combination of a pretty old lens and the low evening light, that hit straight in to this lens. Lovely to meet you and thanks for stopping by! I enjoyed your blog 🙂

      • Thanks. If it is not a world secret, what kind of lens do you use? If they are old doesn’t mean they are not great! btw I am lens freak too 😉
        Nice to meet you too and keep posting 😉

        • Mostly I use a Canon 24-70 2.8 and a 70-200 2.8 for shooting movies. For stills I often use a crappy “came with the body” Nikon zoom (30-55?! 3.5-5.6?! the focus ring broke off now, so I packed it somewhere I can not remember…) and a Tamron 24-70 2.8.
          I also use a lens baby here and there, in photography mostly with its pinhole inlay for pinhole photography (on my hatephotoshop.wordpress.com you can find in the archive an entire section pinhole – or search here for the term “pinhole” in the search field if you’d like to see the pinhole effect).
          We’ll all be old and hopefully amazing one day 🙂

          • To be honest I expected everything but not Canon 😉 You are very well equipped. I love my new Nikkor 35mm f1.8 😉 and I am obsessed with natural lights (I know, beginners ;))
            Thank you for your explanation about that pinhole camera things before. Now I miss my dad’s old Practica 😦

  2. Pingback: March 8th is for the Ladies | IRENA & dots

Leave your Mark

